Tags

, ,

No that title is not describing me, not this time anyway. That friends is the description of a dish I have to share with you. But we will get to that shortly.

First, I’m happy to report today was a pretty good day! It started with a new workout and ended with a really great recipe – how could it not be good?? Here are all the ways today rocked!

Strength Training! Very early this morning, I went to my first group lifting class. I took a total body conditioning class at NYSC. It is a body pump style class, where you do a cardio strength routine set to music. These classes are great because they work all the major muscle groups using squats, lunges, presses, lifts and curls. You go for 50 minutes non-stop so it really gets your heart rate up. I have been really nervous to do a group class besides yoga or spinning, but it turns out I really loved it. I am going to make this class part of my weekly routine. Let’s hope it pulls me out of my weight lifting rut.

I received two emails this morning that I have been waiting for. Both have to do with running! First, was from Girls on the Run Manhattan. I applied to be a coach back in July, and while I don’t know if I got the position yet. They emailed me saying they are wrapping up the decision making and I should know within the week. The second email was from my new running coaches. The girls behind Hot Bird Running have this awesome training package for the Rock n’ Roll 10k in Brooklyn. I was already signed up and still with out a plan, so this was perfect. I am pretty pumped to have the opportunity to work with them. I have been on two group runs that they lead at Lululemon. I really enjoy their fun attitude towards running. I will get my training program soon, and I will definitely keep you updated.

I had The.Best.Salad.Ever for lunch! I took a bit of a long lunch break and walked up to Just Salad. I ordered the HUDSON VALLEY MIX: Baby Spinach, Butternut Squash, Broccoli, Apples, Goat Cheese, Beets, Pumpkin Seeds, Multigrain Croutons Suggested Dressing: Low-Fat Horseradish Chive. I subbed the croutons for egg whites and asked for light on the cheese and dressing.  All my favorite things in one bowl. The whole big salad ended up being about 350 calories. You can calculate it right on their website too.

IMG 0266

This salad tasted like Fall. And I think I have a new obsession with goat cheese. Bonus points – At Just Salad they chop up the salad too! Awesome. I am going to have to refrain from trying to get lunch here everyday. Maybe a once a week treat if I eat at home the rest of the week.

I had my last PT session this afternoon before going and gathering all my ingredients for dinner. Bryan has been dealing with some crazy moods swings from me lately, so I made this recipe for him. I tried to combine some of his favorite foods: pistachios and sushi. He always raves about this almond crusted salmon my mom made once, so I decided to switch out the almond for his favorite, pistachio. And while this isn’t raw sushi, the presence of fish and the spicy wasabi are reminiscent of it. Ever since seeing the wasabi pea powder on ice cream at the Big Gay Ice Cream Truck, I have wanted to incorporate it into a recipe. So here we go

IMG 1674

Wasabi Pea and Pistachio Crusted Cod

Inspired by the Wasabi Pea Dusted Ice Cream Cone from Big Gay Ice Cream Truck

Serves 2

Prep time – 10 minutes; Cook time – 12-15 minutes

This fish recipe is nutty, zesty, and subtly spicy. Baking fish is so fast, easy, and healthy. And this recipe is pretty versatile you could sub in other types of fish such as salmon or halibut. I image it would even be good using chicken or tofu. It does have some rare/expensive ingredients. I know that tends to turn people off, but the ease of cooking and end product make it totally worth it. Wasabi pea powder can be found in the asian section of the grocery store and it only cost me $4. Wasabi is a Japanese horseradish. Another great use for it is combining the powder with equal parts water to make a paste and using it as a spicy sandwich spread.

Ingredients:

  • 2 – 4oz servings of fish – I used fresh cod
  • 1/4 cup shelled raw, unsalted pistachios; pulsed to a powder in a food processor
  • 1.5 tsp of wasabi pea powder
  • salt and pepper to taste – I like a lot of pepper and just a little salt
  • Juice from 1/2 lemon
  • 2 tablespoons rice vinegar (or any other white vinegar)
  • 1-2 tablespoons any flour or bread crumbs, or I used pan searing flour

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Put foil on a baking sheet and spray with cooking spray
  2. Pulse pistachios in food processor until it is ground
  3. Combine ground nuts with wasabi powder, salt, pepper, and flour/bread crumbs
  4. Soak fish in vinegar and lemon juice
  5. Use a plate or ziploc bag to coat fish in pistachio/wasabi mixture
  6. Bake fish for 12-15 minutes
  7. You can broil it for 30 seconds at the very end to make the fish crispy

IMG 1661

IMG 1662

IMG 1665

IMG 1679


Have you cooked with wasabi before?? Yes or no, what do you think about it? I love anything with a little kick.

What made your day good?

