Tags

, , , , , , ,

My first love was Blue Diamond….

Then, I discovered the creaminess of Silk Almond…

Next, I discovered some local NYC nut milk makers…

Finally, I got out my nuts and blender and crafted my own.

IMG 2048

Nut milk love at first sight. I’ve been enjoying my own nut milk for the past 3 weeks. And it has become part of my Sunday afternoon food prep for the week.

IMG 2047

There is nothing better than making something you love yourself. Also, it is hell of a lot cheaper, fresher, and you can customize the hell out it.

The basic recipe, if you can call it that, is a 1:4 ratio of soaked nuts to cold water + any type of sweetener if you want it (1-2 soaked date, stevia, honey, sugar). Blend in a good blender or food processor and strainingng the pulp if you desire. Which, I do desire. And done.

After doing a basic unsweetened with both almonds and cashews, I got fancy.

Vanilla Cardamom Cashew Nut Milk

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cashews, soaked overnight in the refrigerator
  • 4 cups cold water
  • 1 pitted,soaked date (I soaked it right with the cashews)
  • couple drops of vanilla flavoring
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp cardamom

Directions:

  1. Combine everything in blender/food processor (I use the Ninja) and blend for 1 -2 minutes
  2. Strain pulp if desired using thin wire strainer or nut milk bag
  3. Place in bottle and store in fridge. Use within 5-7 days.

Roll 379

I’ve been keeping the pulp and adding it to smoothies, yogurt, cereal. I frozen a lot of it to try things like:

Taco Nut Meat

Almond Crackers

Nut Pate filling for homemade sushi rolls.

Happy drinking!

And happy friday!!

What is on the top of your cooking / to make list??? I’m feeling inspired. Recipe links are welcome!

 

Check out yesterday’s post to see why I am having the best week ever! I also forgot to mention some big work and travel news – another good things post I guess! Never a bad thing.

