I am a bad blogger. It has been a full week since my first post. I left on vacation (I know poor me), and my computer access was more limited than I expected. Should be no excuse though. I’m learning.

First on today’s list, it is St. Patrick’s Day. This is one of my favorite day’s just because it is so easy, but fun to celebrate. Also, I am Irish (see red hair, pale skin, and freckles), and green is my favorite color – Perfect! So I naturally wore green – no one else in my lab did. I also had on a subtle green eye shadow. Must remember to take picture next time. Again, i’m learning 1) always blog 2) always have camera handy.

And in honor of the holiday, I ate all green foods today. Starting with my first green monster smoothie, and to I ate it in bowl a la of my blog inspirations, Kath.

I will definitely be adding my own touches and experimenting with recipes to write about. I like smoothies in a bowl so much more. I did not think it was possible. But the bowl and a little spoon makes the deliciousness last just that much longer. That is how I enjoy all my favorite foods, especially ice cream, slowly with little spoons. Today was also the green monster smoothie for my boyfriend too. He was a little apprehensive, as he always is when confronted with something new and healthy. He actually smelled it first. I tried to get a picture of it, but he was not having that at 7 am. That is incredibly early for him. I am sure you will hear more about that in time. Back to the smoothie, it was just like most everything else I present him, once he tried it he liked it! Of course.

My First Green Monster(makes 2):

-1 cup Skim Milk

– 2 handfuls baby spinach

I live in very, very small quarters, so no blender for me. Sadface, I know. I put them in a large bowl and used an immersion blender to first puree the spinach. Then I added:

– 1 sliced banana

– 1/2 cup rolled oats

– one large spoonful nonfat plain greek yogurt

– 2 handfuls of blueberries

-1 tsp golden flaxseeds

Mixed again with the immersion blender, which thankfully works fine it just takes a few minutes and some stirring to make sure you have pureed everything. And finally, topped with some BearNaked Fit Vanilla Almond Crunch granola. I like this because it is pretty  low in sugar, only 4g per serving, and bearly processed.

I do not have picture for the rest of the days meals – bad blogger again, I know. I will improve! But the rest of my green filled day included, a granny smith apple, a big salad with as many green veggies as I could find (and some non green ones too), and the medical center offered a free St. Patrick’s day dinner of corned beef and cabbage. My mom used to make this one St. Patricks day. Now, my diet is mainly clean nowadays, but I do make exceptions for special occasions, when I am over someone’s home, or the food is FREE! With that said, I did not eat the corned beef. I would have, its not too bad, baked beef brisket. But this was very leathery. If I’m going to eat something it has to bee worth it. So I opted for a huge plate of boiled cabbage and carrots, 2 pieces of potato, and half a piece of irish soda bread, complete with raisins!

Snacked on more carrots when I got home from work( not green). A great cup of my new tea. Its tiramisu red tea from Teavana. I picked it up on vacation.  More on the vacay in future posts. So much good stuff to blog about from the weekend. Now it is time to go hunt down the bf and get ready for bed. Its going to be 67 in NYC tomorrow. I am definitely running outside tomorrow morning!

But before I go – a little research.

I mentioned enjoying my smoothie this morning nice and slow. And whenever you look up dieting tips you are sure to come across one telling you to slow down when you eat, because it takes roughly 20 minutes to feel full.  But why? What is going on in that 20 minutes. Well, a lot of chemical cross talk. There are 12 cranial nerves, one of those is the vagus nerve, which connects the abdomen and the brain. As the stomach gets full and stretches there are cleverly named stretch receptors that utilized the vagus nerve signaling to the brain that you are getting to your limit. There are also hormones released from the small intestine once partially digested food reaches it (ewww). The idea is that if you eat too much, too fast you are not allowing the proper amount of time for these chemical signals to do their job until it is too late. Why is this important? I found out that many people suffering from obesity have also become leptin resistant. Leptin is one of those hormones in the small intestine that signal fullness. And as a result of the resistance, the body is not as responsive to fullness or pleasure from food. With that in mind – sloooow down. Not only will you enjoy your meal more, but you will also give your body a chance to do what it does to the best of it’s ability.

So Long!

