If my legs could talk they would be cursing me. I mentioned I have been suffering from some knee problems, so the last couple weeks I have been focusing on upper body during strength training, and only running or spinning 2-3 times a week. I got back into legs full swing this weekend. I do not know what I was thinking. Here my Friday-Sun workouts.

Friday:

1 mile/10 min warm up run

Strength Training:

Circuit-

Barbell Squats 2 x 20

Dumbbell Stiff Leg Deadlift 2 x 15 ea side

Reverse Lunge 2 x 15 ea leg

Follow by (not performed circuit style)-

Incline Leg Press 3 x 12

Calf raise on incline leg press 1 x 25

Prone(Hamstring) Leg Curl 3 x 12

Finally- 15 min intervals on a stair climber.

The stair climber was something new for me. I’ve never actually tried one. The jury is still out on how I feel about it. I want to try it again before I decide.

Saturday – Spinning with Victoria(sub) at NYSC 34th and 2nd Ave Location

This was a really great class. We have new Live Strong bikes, and they really make you ride with better form. If your form is bad then the ride is actually jerky and hurts my knees/lower back. The instructor taught me you really have to focus on pulling your legs up, instead of on pushing down. Really focus on making a circle. This cured the pain I was feeling on the new bikes. I thought I had good form, but these new bikes really make you work. They kick my butt in a good way.

Today my legs are soooo sore. With that said, I find that because I have sciatica/arthritis it is better to keep moving. If I let myself get too stiff it might cause more pain than if I do not do anything. I have some mild pain and tenderness, but mostly its that “it hurts so good kind of sore.” We will see how I feel tomorrow when I take a true day off from legs.

Today’s workout-

-Slow, slow 3o min jog. on average only 5.5 mph. Nice and easy

– Followed up by 15 min on the elliptical.

-Plus a whole bunch of stretching. I never stretch as much as a probably should, but today it just felt so good I stretch for about 3o minutes.

– 1 mile walk down to Whole Foods, and 1 miles back carrying a heavy bag. That definitely counts as a workout. Despite the cold I was sweating when I got home!

If my stomach could talk, it would be much happier than my legs. Here is a little bit of what I have been eating this weekend:

Omelet

I have really been feeling the eggs

I had this for breakfast both Saturday and Sunday after workouts.

1 whole egg

1 egg white

spinach

mushrooms

side of pineapple (bromelain in pineapple great for digestion protein and inflammation)

 

Best Salad Ever!

I’ve had some form of this salad just about everyday this week: leafy romaine, spinach, tomato, tofu, cucumber, a roasted red pepper, a BIG scoop of the sweet potato spread, and crumbled flat bread from Twin Cakes Bakery purchased through the Fitnessista OpenSky Gift Basket. So far I have tried the Kale Hemp Seed Flatbread and the Collard Green Sesame Flatbread. Both are very good.

My new favorite snack! Warm granny smith apple and cinnamon topped with plain yogurt, granola, and small glob of sunflower butter.

Finally dinners:

 

Almond crusted organic chicken with peas and brown rice

1/4 c slivered unsalted almonds, toasted
1 Tbsp garbanzo bean flour
1/8 tsp Spanish paprika
salt and pepper to taste
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

 

Sauteed Halibut with artichoke hearts, white beans, and tomatoes From Clean Eating Cookbook

Congratulations to everyone who ran in DC this weekend!

 

