It’s been 8 years since I last ran a 5k, or any race for that matter. I used to run cross country in high school. I had to stop when I was 16. I was diagnosed with sciatica after a rough season and improper pre-training. I plan on doing a post soon discussing getting sciatica and arthritis at such a young age. It was not until last spring that I started really running again. It was mostly off and on, and mainly sprinting intervals. This winter was when I started making running a regular thing again.

And today, like just 5 minutes ago, I signed up for the Melissa Fund 5k in NYC!! Aaahhh! I’m nervous, but excited. And Hopeful that I will train right and not destroy my joints, but also a little scared it won’t go well. I am going to keep a positive attitude about it. The race will be Saturday May 14th. I have 6 weeks to train properly. My legs are probably screaming at me again. I wanted to go big by doing a longer race, like a half marathon, but I need to start out slower. Patience is not a virtue I usually have.

Now, that also  means another change to my workout plan. Like a lot of other bloggers, I am very type A. I make lists all the time, for everything. To Do lists, grocery lists, workouts for the week, packing lists. You name it – I list it. And then, I revise each list until its perfect. So this is it; the final work out schedule for the next few weeks. I was talking about doing a month long routine from Muscle and Fitness Hers. It is heavy on lifting and HIIT. I did this in January, and I really liked. This is not the correct routine for me to do now that I am running a race. Instead I will doing a 6 week intermediate 5k training plan, which I will post, and merging it with a lifting plan from the March issue of Oxygen magazine. As well as, adding a few exercises I like. It breaks up muscles into 3 groups to focus on during certain days of the week.

Monday: Chest, Shoulders, and Triceps

Do all exercises in order, not circuit style, and rest 1 min in between.

1. Stability Ball Bench Press w/ Dumbbells 3 x 12

2. Stability Ball Chest Flye 3 x 12

3. Standing Dumbbell Overhead Press 3 x 12

4. Stability Ball Bent Over Flye 3 x 12

5. One Arm Cable Lateral Raise 3 x 8 ea side

6. Balancing One Arm Overhead Extension 3 x 12 ea side

7. Stability Ball Lying Dumbbell Extension 3 x 12

Quick Abs:

Hanging Leg Lifts 3 x 15

Pilates 100

1 set bicycles

1 min plank

For dinner I made fish again! This was another Clean Eating Cookbook inspired meal. I made some minor adjustments.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup brown lentils, picked over and rinsed – I used green lentils
  • 8 oz kale, chopped (about 8 packed cups) – I used dinosaur kale
  • 4 6-oz wild-caught salmon fillets
  • 1 tbsp honey – I exchanged with agave nectar
  • 2 tbsp Dijon mustard
  • Ground black pepper and sea salt, to taste
  • Olive oil cooking spray
  1. Preheat oven to 450°F.
  2. In a large saucepan over high heat, bring 4 cups water to a boil. Add lentils and kale. Cover and simmer over medium-low heat for 25 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove lid and simmer 5 to 10 minutes more or until lentils and kale are tender. Season with salt and pepper, to taste.
  3. Meanwhile, place salmon fillets on a baking sheet lined with foil and coated with cooking spray. Season salmon with salt and pepper, to taste. Bake for 12 minutes.
  4. In a small bowl, stir together honey and mustard. When salmon is ready, remove fillets from oven and coat thoroughly with honey-mustard glaze. Return to oven and bake 10 to 15 minutes more or until cooked through.
  5. Divide lentil mixture among 4 plates. Top each with a salmon fillet and serve immediately.

Nutrients per serving (6 oz fillet, 3/4 tbsp glaze, 1 1/4 cups lentil mixture): Calories: 471, Total Fat: 12 g, Sat. Fat: 1 g, Monounsaturated Fat: 4 g, Polyunsaturated Fat: 5 g, Omega-3s: 3,100 mg, Omega-6s: 1,020 mg, Carbs: 39 g, Fiber: 16 g, Sugars: 6 g, Protein: 48 g, Sodium: 282 mg, Cholesterol: 93 mg

Overall it is a good simple recipe. The glaze is really nice. And holy protein! 48 grams! Definitely good for a post workout recovery meal. With all the protein I am feeling super full. However, that feeling never lasts that long for me. Too bad it will not last until noon tomorrow. I have a doctors appointment at 11, and I have to fast from midnight tonight until after the exam. Fast?! I don’t fast for anything. I wake up, and the first thing I do it eat. Gimme Oats, stat! I really considered rescheduling the appointment for some other day so it could be earlier. Alas, I will just have to suffer through it. I will definitely be eating an awesome lunch tomorrow.

What is the first thing you think about when you get up?

