Tags

,

This morning started out rough. Due to my yearly physical today at 11 am, I was not allowed to eat anything for 12 hours prior. That meant no breakfast for this girl. This is something new for me. I really do not think I have ever had to fast or not eat for anything before. Also, I am very much a morning person. I prefer to workout in the morning, and breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. Always has been. Not to mention, I need my coffee. I tend to get slightly hangry when I get hungry. Bryan would probably say more than slightly. So grumbling tummy equaled grumpy person, and I took it out on Bryan for no reason. I knew when I was nit picking that I was being unnecessarily mean just because my morning schedule was off. I like my routine, and it was screwed up today. I hate running at night, but I couldn’t run this morning and not eat until after 12. No way, I would make it. I realized that it was only one time and I could handle the change for one day. I realized it too late though, and Bryan was already gone for the day. This is something I know I need to work on more. Staying calm when things are not going my way, and not having to control everything going on.

After the appointment, I ran back to the lab to get my lunch that was in the fridge.

Salad has never looked so good.

You would think I would get bored eating the same salad everyday for the past week, but it is that good. Today’s salad: spinach, romaine, tofu, white beans, mushrooms, grape tomatoes, cucumber, glob of sweet potato spread, and glob of homemade hummus.

I followed up the salad with this TJ’s Low-Fat Pomegranate yogurt. It comes with granola on the side to pour in. Yummm!

Nutrition Break Down: 14o Calories. 2.5g of Fat. 3g of Fiber. 18g sugar. 5g protein. Normally more sugar than I would like, but for a flavored yogurt with granola. Not bad.

Naturally, after I ate things started looking up. I still got everything done I needed to at the lab. And there was a Alternative Medicine Club meeting tonight. The topic was acupuncture, with a live demonstration. Awesome! Acupuncture has been recommended to me several times for my chronic pain, but it really freaks me out. The doctor did a few pokes on a volunteer, and discussed cupping. The talk was interesting, and it was nice to be able to see the needles in action. I still ultimately think that it is not for me. I think it may really in fact provide temporary relief for some people. But since it is expensive, does not work for everyone, and is really only temporary, I will pass for now.

Best part of the meeting was the free food. Radiance Tea House catered.

Some of the best and healthiest catered food yet. Cold sesame noodles, greens with tofu, red pepper, and avocado, and spring rolls with shrimp and more avocado. Great little ginger dressing on the side.  It was hard not to inhale it. Maybe it was still the lack of breakfast.

On the way home I stopped at Tasti D Lite! It is a chain of healthy ice cream here in the city. This is what they say: The basic formula is simple. We put in less of what you don’t need—calories, fat, and carbs. And more of what you want—creamy, delicious taste! Most of our flavors have 80 calories (or less), with fewer than 1.5 grams of fat and 14 grams of carbs per four-ounce serving.

Mine was 4 oz of french vanilla with carob chips. At home, I mixed it with a 1/2 nice, slightly under ripe banana(still green bananas are my favorite) and tbsp of fresh ground honey roasted peanut butter from whole foods. This was perfect – it really hit the spot. I am no longer grumpy.

I was suppose to run today to start day 1 of my 5k training. Since my day was amiss today, I will run and post the training schedule tomorrow. Wednesday is also leg day for lifting. Uh-oh, here we go again.

