Tags

, , , , ,

Carbtastic!

I thought there was no better way to christen my new toaster than with a bagel. I grabbed a multi-grain bagel from Whole Foods on Sunday, and patiently waited until Monday morning to eat it. I seriously cannot remember the last time I had a bagel. When revamping my diet last year, carbs was one thing I really had to focus on. I love them, and have no sense of portion control with them. I made the soft, doughy, and usually large NYC bagels a rare treat. Now that I own a toaster, it will be harder to resist buying them. However, I think I will start buying the Thomas Bagel Thins for Bryan and I. I also got a toaster, because I miss my Van’s frozen waffles. I used to eat these when I was up in Harlem. My Favorite are the 8 Whole Grain Berry. I am interested in trying the Gluten Free Buckwheat ones. But back to the bagel – It was still soft and doughy the next morning. Yum. I toasted it! And spread one half with Wild Blueberry Ginger Jelly, and the other with fresh ground peanut butter.

Yum Yum

Sorry about the missing bite. I couldn’t resist. It was the perfect Monday Morning breakfast. Especially after my lifting routine. Monday is Chest, Shoulders, and Triceps. I rolled out of bed a headed downstairs to Bryan’s gym. It is super convenient for when I get up late, but it has a lack of equipment and space. So no stability balls today.

3 Sets of 12 Reps

  • Dumbbell Bench Press
  • Dumbbell Incline Flye
  • Dumbbell Reverse Incline Flye – this works more the rear deltoid area, while the regular works the upper chest
  • Dumbbell Overhead Press
  • Seated Bent Over Lateral Raise
  • One Leg Tricep Overhead Extension Alternating Arms
  • Tricep Cable Extension

Due to time crunch today, I had knew I had to split my workout into 2 sessions – lifting in the morning and cardio/yoga in the evening. I used to get discouraged when I did not do at least an hour of work all at once. I felt like I was not getting a “full” workout, meaning my heart rate was not up for atleast 45-60 min. To me that was the only thing that meant I worked out. Then, I would just end up not going at all. I would use the tired excuse of I don’t have enough time.

However, something is always better than nothing. So if you only have 20-30 minutes – Go anyway! If you have 20-30 minutes twice a day great! I am not advocating always hitting the gym twice a day, but if some days that is your only option, there do appear to be some added benefits. The dread two-a-days can:

  • Allow  you to work at a higher intensity, since you are not working out a long
  • Boost your metabolism by heating up your body twice
  • Exercise always provides an energy boost (you have to make energy to gain energy), so you will get this boost in the morning and in the evening

With that said, here is my evening workout.

30 minutes of mixed terrain on the elliptical

20 minutes vinyasa or flow yoga from Yoga Download

Yoga is something I have a love/hate relationship with. How do they even make just sitting that hard? I’ve done it on and off for a couple years.  Because of my joint problems it is something I know I need to start regularly doing. Part of my Spring goals to stop with the on and off, and schedule yoga 1-2 times per week. I have learned that I benefit the most from the continuous flow styles. Slow and chanting is not my thing. Bikram, or hot yoga, is a great and really challenging workout. I have done it about ten times. It is hard carving out 90 minutes plus travel time though. Yoga download is great, because you can download free 20 minute sessions. I learned about it from Meals and Miles. Some of the benefits of Yoga Download are: you can pick your style, read reviews, there is no travel time, and it is FREE! Yoga is expensive – too expensive. If you are looking to add more yoga this is a great way to do it. The downside is there is no instructor to advise you. That is why I still plan on doing yoga in studios, or at NYSC, when I can.

