Tags

, , ,

Happy Friday Everyone!

Although it is cloudy and slightly chilly here in NYC today is promising to be good day. I can never sleep in no matter how hard I try. So I was surprised this morning to the wake up to the sound of Bryan getting ready for the day. I get up at least 2 hours before him. It was nice to rest a little longer, since I have been having trouble getting to sleep recently. Downside, I missed my morning cycling work out. I will have to make up for this later. Sometimes you just need to sleep! My body took over a decided to rest instead of workout. I started the morning out with Tropical Oats. I’m feeling tropical despite the slow start to Spring here in the Northeast.

Tropical Hot Oatmeal

1/3 c Bob’s Red Mill 5 Grain Cereal with Flax

3/4 cup water

1 T chia seeds

approx 1/4 c lite coconut milk

handful frozen pineapple (added half way through)

splash of vanilla extract

Topped with:

coconut flakes

small blob of sunflower butter

No better way to celebrate Friday then wearing new shoes to work!

Holla for Bargain at Target - $20!

I’ve been dying for oxfords since last year. Finally found some I liked at a great price!

The last couple days at work I have treated myself to a relaxing afternoon snack. Post-salad, I get myself a cup of Tazo Green Ginger Tea and enjoy it along with a Vegan Ginger Snap from Whole Foods. I looooove ginger.

Afternoon Tea

I just received an email from my Grandma in Florida with some fun information. She has been doing a lot of research into our family history. We knew we had some Dutch blood from my great-grandfather’s family, last name is Van Arsdall. But she just got an email from the Brooklyn museum

“After coming from Holland about 1653, our first Van Arsdall (Ashley’s 9th great grandfather) lived in Amersfoort or Flatlands (so named after the English took over), one neighborhood of Brooklyn.”

Wow, 1653! I read the historical fiction book New York by Edward Rutherford last year, and it starts around that time with the Dutch settlers and fur traders. (Side note- It is a really good book taking you all the way from 1600 – present) It is crazy to think that my ancestors were doing the same thing.

What is your background? I am also Irish and Italian. And have you found anything interesting about your family history?

Friday night is date night with Bryan. Woo hoo! Cannot wait to get out work for that! I want to go somewhere new for dinner. We always end up at the same spots.

