Tags

,

What I am currently listening to:

This is my current running jam. I’ve heard the song a couple times and thought it was good. But then it came on Pandora while I was running and I fell in love with it. It gave me a sudden second wind during my workout. ❤

What I m currently eating:

 

Snack Time

1/2 a Gala apple heated for 1 min in microwave

unsweetened vanilla almond milk

cinnamon

handful Nature’s Path Hemp Plus Granola

large tsp of sunflower butter

A med student friend was over and saw the granola, and asked what the benefit of hemp was. Well, I thought besides the fact that granola tastes awesome, they have hemp protein powders – so vegetarian source of protein and fiber I said. I was right, but boy was I underestimating this little plant!

At first putting hemp into Google, I found many sites claiming hemp to be the most useful and beneficial plant out there. This was interesting – I did not expect this. But is this just hippies touting crazy benefits or is this real? So I decided to move to my most reliable source of info – Wikipedia, and then I headed over to the Discovery website. Here is a brief list of what I found. The research could go on for a while on hemp. I had no idea what I was getting into.

  • Hemp seeds contain all the essential amino acids necessary to maintain healthy human life – I do no think there are many sources of veg. protein that contain all the essentials, meaning amino acids that you need for everyday life, but that your body does not make on its own. It is comprised of 33% protein, second only to soy (35%), but more easily digestible due to more globular protein – meaning water soluble proteins
  • Hemp seeds can be eaten raw, ground into a meal, sprouted, made into hemp milk
  • Approximately 44% of the weight of hempseed is healthy edible oils, containing about 80% essential fatty acids (EFAs); i.e., linoleic acid, omega -6(LA, 55%), alpha-linolenic acid, omega-3 (ALA, 22%). You also need to ingest these, as your body does not make them. EFA’s are needed for heart and brain health.
    One resource stated “Hemp has an omega-6/omega-3 ratio of 3:1 which is closest to the optimum 4.0 average recommended by the World Health Organization for the human diet.”
  • They are suitable for those unable to eat gluten, sugar, milk, nuts & meat.
  • Health benefits include: Improve cardiovascular circulation & function, Lower blood LDL cholesterol levels, Improve recovery of muscles after exercise, Reduction of many degenerative diseases through preventative measures, Treatment for Eczema, many more.

Some websites claim that hemp seeds contains more protein than any fish. That is true if you are talking percent weight, but you would have to eat tons of hemp seeds in order to actually obtain as many g of protein as you do from fish.  Based on the math I did hemp seeds have about 3 times as much protein per gram than fish like salmon or haddock. With that said it is much easier to eat a fillet of fish for approx. 30 grams of protein than 150g of hemp seeds.

Hemp also gets a bad rap for its relationship with drugs. Hemp is from the cannabis genus but hemp and weed are from 2 different plants. So no harm.

That was a lot of information I did not expect to find, but hey – now I know. And it is always good know another great source of veg. protein and healthy fats to add to oats, smoothies, baked goods, etc.

I’m off to lick my snack bowl clean and pack. I’m going on a little trip tomorrow!

Have you come across any surprising food facts lately?

