Tags

, ,

Dinner last night was – different. Extenuating circumstances changed my evening plans and left me rather grumpy. I was cooking for one and did not feel like having a lot of clean up or left overs. I stood in front of the fridge for about 15 minutes trying to decide what looked good.

The answer: Millet Sunflower toast with Orange Fig Jam and Honey Lavender Goat Cheese. Simple, yet sounds totally fancy right? All my farmer’s market finds. Along with a baked sweet potato with cinnamon. I ate the skin and everything. I starved and just attacked the sweet potato.

Toast and Sweet Potato

Dinner was kind of sweet, so shortly after I found myself craving salt! My snack was another farmer’s market buy. Handmade Martin’s Pretzel with spicy brown mustard. Mustard has to be one of my favorite condiments. Not the weird plain yellow mustard though. Spicy brown or Dijon. Yummm.

Snack

In the end a bit unusual for dinner, but very satisfying. Best part – minimal dishes to clean. Just that plate and fork.

This morning I stayed indoors for my workout. The weather here in NYC was awful. High winds and rain. Boooo!

Lifting Warm Up

  • 30 seconds Jumping Jacks
  • 15 Prisoner Squats
  • 30 seconds burpees

Chest Shoulder and Tri’s (all 12 reps x 3 sets)

  • Smith Machine Incline Chest Press – works pectorals more
  • Smith Machine Flat Chest Press – works anterior deltoid more
  • Incline Chest Flye
  • Dumbbell Overhead Press
  • Seated Bent Over Lateral Raise
  • Front Raise

*When planning routines I try to remember to follow up press exercises with 1-2 pull exercises to give muscles sufficient time to recover

  • Standing Tricep Extension – both arms one dumbbell this time; I usually do it unilateral
  • Diagonal Raise – sort of back to shoulders
  • Tricep cable extensions

30 minutes easy run on Treadmill – this should have been Tuesdays run.

The beginning of this week start out rocky, but this morning has me looking up. I felt good after my workout. Ate a wonderful bowl of mixed cereal with big fresh blueberries and a hard boiled egg for extra protein. And I received this photo in my inbox:

My "niece" and I in December

This is my “niece”- the daughter of one of my best friends from home. Isn’t she adorable! This was back at Christmas. She is probably so big now. I will be going home to Syracuse next weekend for Easter and hopefully I will get to visit.

Have you eaten any strange meals lately?

 

