Tags

, , ,

I did something new today for my daily workout: run, bike, run. I usually like to go to spinning on Wed, and either Friday or Saturday. I prefer Wed/Fri because those are days I do not run – but it doesn’t always work out that way. But since I will be out go town from this afternoon-Saturday afternoon I decided I wanted to go this morning. While searching for a class I realized another reason I might not spin Thursday morning is because there are a lack of NYSC with Thursday morning spinning! What gives? Must be a trend that people tend do not go on Thursday. I did find one, the NYSC on 23rd and 8th. Not too bad. Google maps says its 1.4 miles away, and I do have a run scheduled for today – Why not!? So I got up at 6 am, geared up, and headed out the door. My only “gear” at the moment is a Nathan Shadow Pak. This totally looks like a fanny pack. But I need to have ID’s with me to get back into the building and it can hold my ipod or phone. Utility before fashion in this case. It is lime green though. Depending on your preference that either makes the fanny pack better or worse.  I was pleasantly surprised to find the temperature outside was great and it was perfect amount of light at 6:15. It is nice to run outdoors again.

I arrived much earlier than I thought – running outside is much easier than running on the treadmill. The same time I got there the instructor was walking in. And it was Jack! The instructor I liked from the Sunday evening class. Lucky! This got me pumped. How random – 2 different locations at 2 different times I do not usually take. What did not get my pumped were old bikes with a sketch resistance wheel. I was able to get a decent ride but the wheel kept acting up. It did not keep my resistance steady and it was like I kept losing my resistance. I spent too much time messing with it, and just decided to give up and work with what I got. I probably will not go back to that location for spinning because of the bad bikes.

Time to run back. My training schedule said I was suppose to do 20 min of free form fartlek running. Meaning intervals. So I worked that in on the way back. Picking up speed for half a block and slowing down the other half – I did that the whole 1.4 miles back.

I always work out the morning of travel because I know I am going to be sedentary for a bit of the day, and I do not want to have to work out later when I get to where ever I am going.

So where am I going? You saw that beautiful picture at the top of the post right? That is Mohonk Mountain Manor. Boosted as a “luxury resort and spa in Upstate NY.” The neuroscience department has a retreat there Thursday-Saturday. Beautiful resort, All inclusive, paid for by the boss, free hiking, yoga, food – sign me up! Oh yea – there are also neuroscience talks all weekend. I shouldn’t forget why we are there…right? My fellow lab members and I plan on stopping by the spa and maybe getting a tee time for golf. I’m really bad a golf – but hey its a vacation!

I’m an awful procrastinator and had to pack this morning while eating my breakfast.

Apple Cinnamon Protein Oats

  • 1/3 c of Bob’s Red Mill 5 grain cereal with flax
  • 1 c of water
  • tsp of chia seeds
  • other 1/2 of apple from last nights snack
  • big splash of unsweetened almond milk
  • cinnamon
  • 1/3 pack of vanilla whey protein
  • 1 tsp of sunflower nut butter

Definitely over packed for 2 days. Ekk! That is a full suitcase.

Tons of play clothes!

I usually do not bring my laptop on short trips. However, now that I am a pseudo-blogger into the suitcase it goes. I learned my lesson back in March. I went on a mini adult spring break, and  I did not have my lap top and so it never got blogged about. A shame really. Maybe I can do a passed post about it. I also remembered to pack the camera! I feel I need to pat myself on the back for this one.

Entertainment for the bus

Magazines, GRE book, iPad

And of course travel snacks!

tea, apple, veggies, and mini cashew larabar

We depart in approx 2 hours. See you upstate!

Beautiful!

