Tags

, , ,

Friday morning – 4 hours of sleep…..

We had limited amount of time for breakfast 8-845, and then there was a marathon of talks planned for the second day. The resort had a really nice fitness facility, and I planned to take full advantage of it despite the time crunch. I woke and 630 and planned an impromptu high intensity total body circuit.

Time Crunch Butt Kicker Circuit:

Warm Up – 15 min on the Elliptical

Each of the following exercises 1 right

after the other; repeated 2x

  • Squat Press – w/ 10 lbs dumbbells 12 reps
  • Treadmill Interval 1 min-very brisk run; 1 min jog
  • Plank Row – w/ 12.5 lb dumbbells 16 reps (8 ea side)
  • Jump Rope – 1 min
  • Diagonal Bicep curl – 10 lbs 24 reps alternating (12 ea side)
  • Treadmill Interval 1 min-very brisk run; 1 min jog
  • Tricep Dips – on bench 12 reps
  • Jump Rope – 1 min
  • 2 Ab exercises of choice – stability ball crunches and 1 min plank

I was sufficiently sweaty and definitely hungry when I was done.

Huge breakfast buffet!

Mission Figs!

I went crazy with all the toppings on the yogurt. I couldn’t decide to I got them all.

  • 1 giant date
  • 2 mission figs
  • blackberries
  • kiwi
  • high fiber cereal
  • sunflower seeds
  • also had melon chunks on the side and a small scoop of scrambled eggs

Now for the weekend photo reel:

The schedule

My boss giving a talk during the ” Fear ” segment of the retreat.

My name is on the screen!

Section on ” Desire ” I was glad to see data on how nutrition effects cognition. Badly, just as I suspected. Kids with higher BMI’s and those already with Type 2 Diabetes have lower standardized test scores.

Food because it necessary or because it tastes good?

Lunch!

Thai Coconut Rice, Mashed Parnsip and Celery Root, salad, steamed veggies

Fun!

Horse and Buggy

Hiking

The Resort Birdseye View

My lab mates

Rowing

We had almost hit a rock wall. Aaahh!

Fear!

Fri Afternoon – Neuroscience as it pertains to Movement

More Coffee, More Notes

Dr. Dasen Presents

Getting Silly - all lectured out....

Dinner – not as good as first night. I had Spicy Soba Noodles for an entree. I was told it was a veggie curry. Not so much. Why is the vegetarian option always pasta?? It was still good though.

Spicy Coconut Soba Noodles

The next 18 hours consisted of more talks and more coffee. Long but fun and educational weekend!

When I got home Saturday evening Bryan took me for Gelato at a new place, Mia, on 3rd Ave and 27th. This place had crazy flavors. And they will literally let you sample every one of them. Tequila Fig was one of the flavors! She they only use top ingredients and they have a chef that makes all the gelato fresh.

YUMMM

Cute Cafe in the back!

Cherry Vanilla and Pisatchio

Bryans Hot Choc Whisky and Ferrero Rocher

Really good weekend! It was nice to get out of the city and be in nature. I enjoyed the rowing. I volunteered to row the entire 30 minutes we were out as an extra exercise for all the sitting we were doing during the lectures.

What is your favorite outdoor sporting activity?

