Tags

,

With the changing of seasons comes colds. I have the worst sore throat! I woke up with it yesterday. I haven’t had a sore throat in years. I am not a fan. I cannot spend more then 5 minutes without a throat lozenge or tea. I have gone through almost a whole bag of sugar free honey-lemon drops. It even hurts to drink water. Luckily, there do not appear to be anything other symptoms like fever, headache, cough. Any recommendations for how to cure/alleviate a sore throat? I feel like it is making food taste different too. Can that happen? Eeek.

On top of being sick, Bryan and I keep having problems with dividing up responsibilities. To keep a long story short, I basically do everything – cook, clean, shop, laundry, plan menus, do the dishes, the list could go on. I’m beginning to feel like a mother or maid. It is hard because I like to cook, and I know he is busy as a medical student. But that does not mean it is impossible to help. And it would be nice for someone to cook for me once. So we keep bumping heads about this. I just get mad and upset. I do not have a lot of time either. Then it stresses him out that I’m mad, and he cannot focus on studying. Ughhh. The situation is frustrating.

I did make dinner for us tonight. Something quick so he could get back to studying. I am calling them Caribbean Rice Bowls.

Ingredient

  • Brown Rice (not pictured)
  • TJ’s Refried Black Beans with Jalapeno
  • Frozen fire roasted corn
  • frozen bell peppers
  • avocado
  • Ataulfo Mango

Caribbean Rice Bowls

That large brown blob does not look very appealing, but trust me it is. Not involved but a lot of good flavors. For something so low maintenance, I was happy.

I have never had an ataulfo mango – they are smaller and yellow and almost shaped. I have been seeing them all over the fruit stands. I was leery, but that was all that was available. I think the pit part is smaller in proportion to the regular mangoes. So, I think there is more mango “meat” available to eat. It also tastes pretty much the same. Now I know.

I chose my typical greek yogurt bowl for a snack.

Non Fat Greek Yogurt w/ blueberries, walnut pieces, chia seeds, and shredded coconut.

Blueberry topping

Are you married, or do you live with your significant other?  If so, how do you divide up responsibilities or chores? Also, how do you come to compromises?

