Tags

,

It is a bad sign for the week when you start out Monday exhausted and behind. My other lab members were dragging to. It probably has to do with the long neuroscience retreat, which resulted in a short weekend for yourself. As a result, it is Tuesday morning and I am posting for Monday. Gotta get caught up!

I was able to get out of bed at 630 for a good workout.

Strength Training + Elliptical

Lifting Warmup:

  • Jumping Jacks 1 min
  • Push Ups – 15
  • Mountain Climbers 1 min

Back, Biceps, and Abs: 3 sets of each exercise, then move onto next

  • Dumbbell Deadlifts  12 reps – not stiff legged, make sure to squat down and keep back flat in order to target lower back
  • Supermans 8 reps
  • Bent Over Dumbbell Row 12 reps
  • Single Arm Row using Bench – 12 reps ea side
  • Hammer Curl – 10 reps
  • Dumbbell Preacher Curl – 8 reps

One Set each of Ab exercises:

  • Incline Sit up – I hate these. 12 reps
  • Floor crunches – 25 reps
  • Russian Twist – 25 reps
  • Weighted V-Ups on bench – 25 reps

Finished with 22 minutes on Elliptical – Random Interval

I was really excited about dinner tonight. It is sort of a test run for my Easter meal this weekend. My brother is vegan as of last year, so I have to plan out my holiday meals differently. The main dish is going to be a Mushroom and Leek Barley Risotto. However, for yesterday’s meal I used wheat berries instead of barley, because I had some one hand from the Green Market.

On my lunch break I cooked the wheat berries Kath style. I let them cook for 35 minutes on the stove. I removed from heat and left them in the water until the evening.

Mushroom and Leek Wheatberry Risotto (vegan)

Yields about 4 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cooked wheatberries
  • 2 cups low sodium vegetables stock (would need more if wheatberries were uncooked)
  • 1 lb sliced cremini mushrooms
  • 2 leeks chopped
  • ~2 T of olive oil
  • 2 T balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tsp garlic puree –  equivalent to 2 cloves. I hate chopping garlic…
  • spices: thyme, pepper, and minimal salt bc of the broth

Directions:

  1. Add broth to pan and heat on low. Heat olive oil in large skillet on the stove.
  2. Clean and chop leeks. Add garlic puree. Saute with oil for 5 minutes.
  3. Add mushrooms and cook for another 5-10 minutes.
  4. Add wheatberries and balsamic vinegar and a portion of the broth. Do not add all the broth at once. Add it gradually as it cooks down. You can also add the spices now. I do not have measurements as I just add them to taste. Rosemary would be good too, but I did not have it.
  5. Cover skillet (leave crack for air to escape), cook down, continue adding broth, and stirring often so it doesn’t burn. Cook until desire consistency and all broth is absorbed. I cooked mine for about 35-40 minutes. The wheatberries still had a decent bite, but I like a lot of chew so it was good for me! 🙂
  6. Serve warm and enjoy!

Finished Product

Wheatberry Risotto

It was a carnivore approved meal by Bryan. He was on the fence about the chewiness of the wheat berry as he does not usually like that texture. But it wasn’t as bad as he though it would be and said the flavor made up for the texture. He must have enjoyed seeing as he had about 2 1/2-3 servings. Yay! I used to be afraid of making risotto. It takes a long time to cook, but with minimal effort. Although, I find waiting that long to be an effort in itself. Also, if you are using grains like barley and wheat berries it is not as scary, because it is not as easy to burn and ruin.

Now off to get more coffee and get caught up at work!

