Tags

, ,

I am just settling down this evening, finally! Its just after 9 pm. I’ve got my chamomile and mint tea, my mom’s style. And The Wedding Date, with Deborah Messing, is on abc Family. I am a sucker for a cute romantic comedy. And this:

Dermot Mulroney...Yummm

Speaking of Yum. Dinner tonight was yummy. It was another quickie. It was my first time making my own calzones. I feel silly for never thinking of it. We enjoy making homemade pizza, but calzones never crossed my mind. I got the idea from Une-Vie-Saine. I usually do not cook Italian type dishes because they are usually associated with lots of carbs and heavy meals. But my family is Italian, so growing up on it makes it hard to resist. This meal was perfect because I can control the proportions by doing it homemade, and I loaded it up with veggies.  Also, ever since I finally got a mini food processor a few weeks ago, I have been dying to make a pesto. I really liked the idea of doing a pesto instead of traditional tomato sauce. So my Green Goddess Calzone was born.

While some TJ’s whole wheat was rising – a little less than half of package I made the pesto.

Spinach-Basil Oil-less Pesto

In a food processor combine:

  • handful of spinach
  • handful of basil
  • lemon juice
  • garlic
  • salt
  • pepper
  • splash of balsamic vinegar
  • light sprinkle of grated Parmesan
  • just a few walnut pieces

I did not measure anything out just threw it all in and blend, blend, blend.

Bryan and I each took our hunks of dough and spread them out thin. Spread on some pesto.

green goodness

Green Goddess Calzone Stuffing:

  • blanched zucchini (no sauteing with oil)
  • microwaved broccoli
  • 1/2 a slice mozzarella cheese

I forgot to get a picture because we were so hungry. Folded it up right quick and pinched the edges closed. They were baked on 425 for 10 minutes. The crust had the perfect amount of doughiness. ❤

Calzone with a side of broccoli and califlower

Bryans Gooey Inside

So no matter what I make or where we eat, everything with Bryan is always “good.” I always tell him I could feed him dog poop and he would tell me it was good. So tonight I have decided to implement a new system so I can gauge what is actually good. I appealed to the doctor part of him – we are working on a scale of 1-10 now. It worked because as soon as I said it he gave me a score with reasons why. He gave it a 6.5, which I was surprised about because he said he liked it more than his favorite pizza that we make. He said he is going to make his scale more moderate to leave move for improvements(pssssh) and things that are really good. I gave it a 7. Bryan’s reason for the 6.5 was a little too much lemon in the pesto. So watch the lemon when making your pesto.

Prior to dinner, I took the Wednesday night spin class at my usual NYSC location. I haven’t taken this particular class in a while. I like the instructor, she plans a good routine full of intervals, but I just could not get motivated enough to push myself further and harder. I don’t know if it was me or if it is because I do not really like her music choices. Too slow, too old school. I don’t know what it was. I’m still glad I went, it was still a decent enough sweat and it is better than not going.

What do you think about spinning playlists? Do you think they have a big effect on the workout?

I also did this upper body routine before class

Chest, Shoulders, and Triceps

Do all exercises in order, and rest 1 min in between.

  1. Stability Ball Bench Press w/ Dumbbells 3 x 12
  2. Stability Ball Chest Flye 3 x 12
  3.  Standing Dumbbell Overhead Press 3 x 12
  4. Stability Ball Bent Over Flye 3 x 12
  5. One Arm Cable Lateral Raise 3 x 8 ea side
  6. Balancing One Arm Overhead Extension 3 x 12 ea side
  7. Cable Tricep Pulldown

I’m going to go dig up some dessert. I have some watermelon slices in the back of the fridge I have been hiding from Bryan.

Goodnight!

