Tags

,

I try to keep Sunday evenings as my time. Time to veg out and watch shows I missed during the week, or a movie, and just relax. It is really the only “down” time I have scheduled. It seems so silly to have to schedule in down time, but really Sunday after dinner is my only opportunity. I really try to keep it clear of any work, chores, or errands. My goal is to do nothing but sit, maybe read a little. But that is all the effort I want to put in. I’m also babysitting on Sunday afternoons now for about 5 hours, and that is so much more work than I expected. It wipes me out, and this weekend has been non-stop. So I’m really looking forward to bed tonight. In order to get to that sooner, I’m going to wrap up my weekend in photos:

Antiques and Oddities

Xi'an Noodles

Kickin’ around the Lower East Side on Friday night. Check out those hand drawn spicy cumin noodles. Soooo good.

Saturday Morning after grocery shopping for the week at TJ’s, I met up with my dad who was in town for a couple of days. I got off the subway and we stumbled upon a street fair! Yay street fair season. There were lots of new tents.

Street Fair!

Picked up one of my favorite foods.

Cup O'Melon!

Spices and Tea at the fair

Then we headed over to Central Park. It was a beautiful day.

Tip Toe Through the Tulips

After my dad left and since I was in the area, I head over to the Mall at Columbus Circle. I tortured myself by heading into Williams Sonoma.

Maybe one day….

Demo with a free smoothie – blackberries and almond milk!

The days shopping loot – some new duds from J.Crew and a new cookbook. I’ve been wanting this cookbook from Tosca Reno for a while.

Lunch was Whole Foods hot bar! Lemon Baked Tofu, blood orange and beet quinoa, and smidge of coconut couscous.

Dinner later was baked polenta and steamed asparagus. I sliced up TJ’s polenta seasoned with salt, pepper, Parmesan, and red pepper flakes and baked with some cherry tomatoes at 350 for 15-20 minutes.

Hello beautiful! Yes, I’m talking to the ice cream. Vanilla with strawberries and almonds for dessert.

Sunday morning I joined the NYU School of Medicine team for the 3.5 mile March of Dimes walk. I’ve never done one of these. I can’t believe how big the event was! They closed down all of Lexington Ave from the 60’s down to the 20’s!For dinner tonight was stuffed Portobello Mushrooms. I came up with this recipe impromptu while at Trader Joe’s and I was pumped to try it out.

There’s a big tasty portobello mushroom under there, I swear! I stuffed it with quick cooked couscous, black beans, chopped red pepper, salt, pepper, and sun dried tomatoes. Baked it at 350 for 20 minutes and topped with 1/2 slice of mozzarella at the end. Steamed corn on the cob on the side. Bryan gave it a 7 out of 10! Next time I think I will add some sauteed onions and garlic to the stuffing. I really loved it though.

Phew! Now I am pooped! I going to enjoy a little yogurt with blueberries and get ready for bed. Enjoy what is left of your weekend!

Do you also have to schedule down time? How do you like to spend your time to yourself?

