Tags

,

Diaries of the Sleep Deprived: stories from an insomniac. This should be the new title to my blog. I do not know why, but ever since moving to NYC,( almost 2 years ago now!) I have been suffering from on again-off again bouts of insomnia. I just can’t get to sleep, stay asleep, or fall back to sleep. It starts when I try to go to bed I can’t get comfortable, I think too much, there is too much noise, Bryan isn’t home yet…there are way too many things keeping me awake. The strangest thing is I can’t figure out what do to with my arms! I get uncomfortable and the position of my arms are the biggest part. They are just in the way and won’t lie anywhere nicely. I have a sleep mask and eye plugs to help with noise/roommates, but it freaks me out so that doesn’t really help either. The past couple months have gotten bad again. I think I average like 4-5 hours a night. That is just not enough for me, I am constantly exhausted. This is abnormal for me, as child my mom would say a tornado could come move the house, and I would sleep through it. I hate it. Any one have some advice??? I can’t take it anymore!!

No work out this morning – I was too drained, but couldn’t get back to sleep no matter how hard I tried. I just laid there thinking about everything I need to do and how I should have been working out. Not a good way to start on a Monday. When I finally did get up I made oats, which is a good way to start.

Strawberry Sunflower Hot Cereal

  • 1 c water
  • 1/3 c Bob’s Red Mill 5 grain cereal + flax
  • ~1 tsp Chia seeds
  • handful of slivered almonds
  • 5 frozen strawberries stirred in at the end
  • splash of unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 T of sunflower butter

This Bob’s Red Mill cereal is my favorite. It is very chewy and keeps me full. I definitely had my coffee this morning – so far not helping at all.

Although I have been running around non stop, I am behind on everything, including work, blog posts, on studying for the GRE, laundry, cleaning the bathroom. Maybe this is why I cannot sleep. I think I need to sit down with a nice cup of tea this evening and construct a new, and strict, weekly schedule for myself. This does not sound like the life of a balanced blogger. With all my newly added responsibilities, I just need to regain some structure. I will report back with progress updates.

In other news, I just found this really great site: Well and Good NYC

How do you deal with scheduling, deadlines, and daunting amounts of tasks? I’m planning on using the iCalendar on my Macbook and syncing it to all my google account, blackberry, ipad. Oh the life of a city dweller…

