Tags

, ,

I think I might have developed some seasonal allergies. For weeks my nose has been runny, my eyes are bothering me, and I have this awful congestion headache in my forehead, and behind my nose and eyes. Is this allergies? I’ve never had allergies. I head home from work early to try and sleep, but I can’t sit still so I ended up cleaning/do laundry instead. It was good to get that out of the way at least.

While enjoying my breakfast this morning I downloaded the new Carrots N’ Cake book to my iPad. I’m really excited to read this because I love the blog so much.

I started in on the first page, but I had to put it off for my night time reading. I knew I wouldn’t be able to stop. I also booked a vacation for June! Bryan has been studying non-stop 14 hours a day/7 days a week for his board exam June 9th. So June 10th we are going to my Grandma’s house in the mountains in North Carolina. I’m pretty pumped about this. I plan on packing all 4 days with hiking, white water rafting, and cute antique stores.

For breakfast, I had a hard boiled egg sprinkled with pepper, and sunflower millet toast with thinly spread pb and 1/2 a banana.

I realized today that eating an egg/ more protein at breakfast really does keep me fuller longer. I made it all the way until 12:30 for lunch. And today was free lunch Wednesday! It was actually decent too. Sushi!

I took a tuna roll, a california roll with salmon, and two avocado/cucumber rolls. I also had a snack bag of baby carrots with me.

While it was good 4 pieces of sushi definitely did not hold me over for long. In the middle of cleaning I made a little parfait.

Two large scoops of plain NF greek yogurt, a bunch of blueberrys, and a handful of Hemp plus granola.

Despite my headache I decided to tough it out at the gym. I did Chest, Shoulders and Triceps today. 12 reps and 3 sets each

  1. Incline Chest Press using a Smith Machine
  2. Incline Dumbbell Flye
  3. Seated Overhead press
  4. Standing front raise superset with lateral raise
  5. Tricep Cable Extension
  6. Tricep Dips

+ Spinning Class. I had a rough time changing positions especially from 1 to 2 during the class. My head was killing me. I am glad I went though because I felt better at the end.

Bryan and I just had dinner, but both of us are feeling a bit off and were not overly hungry. I had some barley soaking on the stove that I had planned to use in a new recipe, but instead we just cooked it up plain and topped it with steamed broccoli and cauliflower. I wiped up a quick peanut sauce for Bryan – 1 T pb, 1 T soy sauce, 1 T water, 1 T rice vinegar and stir stir stir. I used a tiny bit that he had left over in the bowl. Bryan was pleasantly surprised at how tasty something so quick was.

Interesting food science fact – it is better to cook broccoli in the microwave than by boiling on the stove to preserve nutrients. I would have thought the opposite. But I guess cooking it on the stove in water allows the glucosinolate to leach out. This is the sulfur-containing compound that give broccoli its cancer-fighting properties.

Have you learned anything about food lately that surprised you?

Also, do you suffer from seasonal allergies? Any advice? Is this what I am experiencing?

I’m off to settle down for bed and start my new book!

