Tags

I owe this blog some major love. I haven’t given her any attention since Friday!  I got home a bit earlier last night and fully intended on posting – then NYU emailed that the internet was going to down for the evening. Figures.

I have really been enjoying the finally consistent, nice weather. Yay for May!

On Saturday, I checked out the Self Magazine Workout in the Park. It was 11-3 and included tons of 20 minute long fitness classes put on by Crunch.

I’m not usually a big class person. I like spinning classes and some yoga, but that is about it. I thought this would be a fun change up for me and bonus points for getting to spend most of the day outside in the sun!

I did like 3 abs/core classes. What was I thinking?! My lower back and abs have been killing me for days. Its a good sore, but I’ve never been sore like this in my core. The workouts were Saturday and today (Wednesday) is the first day I’m not dying. Bryan tried to massage it but it hurt sooo bad.

The best class I took was BodyART. Here is the description: Ying meets Yang in this class that blends cardio, yoga, and dance based principles. This workout is therapy for over-exercises and perfect for anyone looking to improve the functionality of the body from head to toe. Use deep work training to release tension in the body and return it to the roots of what makes it one efficient and functional unit. I looooved this class.

The Self Workout in the Park ended up being a lot of fun and a great work out. I got in 5 20 minute classes. I stayed away from the dance classes though. I tried a song or two during the Masala Bhangra. I was a mess. So I grabbed my bag and slowly moved out of the crowd, and headed to the tents to check out the free swag.

My free swag: 2 bottles of Nivea Cellulite Lotion, 5 bottles of hint water, iRenew bracelet, 5 Luna protein bars in peanut butter and cherry choc. almond, Garnier hair samples, Jockey underwear key chain, asics water bottle, and 2 week trial to Crunch.

These past several days I have also been enjoying a lot this:

The beautiful Spring weather!

A lot strawberries. Spring means awesome, fresh strawberries! I got this 2 pound container for only $2.50. So far every single one has been so goooood. I’ve been putting them on everything.

I stuffed as many strawberries as I could into this little container. Yogurt was literally busting out the top, and I happily licked it off the sides of the container. No one was watching, but would I have cared even if they were – NOPE!

I was also thrilled to finally make Cookie Dough Cereal! Just like everyone has been saying – out of this world! I made 2 and Bryan liked it too!

  • 1/3 c. old fashion oats, 1/3 packet of vanilla protein powder, 1 T of sunflower nut butter – mix until crumbly like cookie dough
  • Then I added 2/3 c of unsweetened almond milk, vanilla extract, tons of strawberries, 1/2 banana, and chia seeds – for good measure

I have also been eating a lot of soup, complete with oysters.

I know, I know. The weather is getting warmer and I am eating soup. I’ve been feeling congested and have really been digging soup the past week. This is Trader Joe’s low sodium roasted red pepper and tomato.

Soup and these little guys

These dangerous little fishies are cinnamon graham cracker Goldfish. And I have eaten just about an entire bag. New weakness. Yum Yum Yum.

As far as workouts go, besides the abs, I have been really liking outdoor running and upper body lifting. Mainly focusing on shoulders and upper back – its sundress season soon!!

In other, random news: Has anyone seen that new Honda Civic commerical?? It has got some scary, furry troll in it. Creepy and Confusing.

That was a quick review post, and now we will be back to our regularly scheduled blogging.

Oh funny story! I had a cooking fail with eggplant this evening, and after I whipped up a pita  stuffed with hummus, tabbouleh, and half sour pickles instead. I brought my make shift dinner in to watch an Iron Chef rerun, and the secret ingredient was EGGPLANT. I kid you not. I almost changed it.

Stay tuned for tomorrow when I am finally addressing my Top 10 Food Must Haves. Tomorrow is also a big day! I have a morning run planned -stopping on the way back for a good coffee, yoga with my cousin after work, and dinner out with Bryan. All because it’s my birthday!

