Tags

Hello, Hello. It is only Tuesday, and I already cannot wait for the weekend. Not that I ever really get to relax on weekends either, but nevertheless – come on Friday! Don’t get me wrong, I love my job. I am just exhausted.

I cooked tonight! I had half a tray of left over extra lean ground turkey breast from yesterday’s meatballs.

Toasted Cumin Turkey Burger Salad

For the Turkey Burger combine these ingredients in a bowl (for 2 large burgers):

  • ~1/2 lb of EL ground turkey breast (organic, cage free)
  • 1/3 chopped onion and clove of garlic sauteed until browned
  • large handful of fresh chopped parsley
  • season with salt, pepper, oregano, paprika, and red chili flakes

I cooked them on the stove and added a bit of swiss cheese at the end. I served the turkey burger over baby spinach and topped it with left over toasted cumin dressing from Candle Cafe. I also baked up a small sweet potato topped w/ greek yogurt, pepper, cinnamon, and Bryan added walnuts.

The above photo is Bryan’s massive burger. I cut mine in half and opted out of the walnuts tonight. Here is my plate:

The parsley did so much for the burger and the cumin dressing went really well. I was very pleased with this dish. Granted, I did not make the dressing.

In other exciting news, I am signing up to be a running buddy in the Girls on the Run 5K. This organization an awesome idea. Working with young girls ages 8-13 to get them excited about health and fitness.

I am heading to bed shortly, but first I would like to share this article on Sprouted Grains: Are they as healthy as they claim? – The answer is yes they are healthy, but it could be for a number of reasons. The mostly likely reason is because they are minimally processed and therefore not stripped of their nutrients.

My favorite sprout is broccoli sprouts. I like the on sandwiches with hummus and avocado.

Do you eat sprouted grains? What is your favorite?

