Tags

, ,

It’s June 1st! And it’s a hot one. Currently in the city it is 89 degrees, but the hot, hot sun is making it feel like 97.

June 1st is also National Running Day. I had no idea, until I saw it pop up on some other blogs. Makes me feel even better about my unplanned run this morning. I celebrated running day and first day of June with my first smoothie of the season. Took me long enough – I came home with my blender at the end of April! I love my Hamilton Beach single serve blender. Works great for being so cheap and such a small appliance. And perfect to stream line the morning routine. It is also pretty quiet while blending. Unlike, my little food processor – that is the loudest damn thing ever. I took my smoothie with me to work + coffee from community espresso maker. I should use that more often.

This was a pretty simple smoothie, but oh so tasty. I forgot how good they are.

  • 1/2 cup of skim
  • 1/4 c unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 honking handful of fresh spinach
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1/4-1/3 c frozen pineapple

I brought a spoon and a sprinkle of granola to eat it with. Perfect breakfast.

On to the heavy-

So yesterday, I resurfaced after going missing for 2 weeks. I was feeling pretty down for a week or so and very drained emotionally. I could not bring myself to get on the blog a tout being happy and healthy when I was not feeling that way at all. But something finally snapped, and I have emerged re-energized. Everyone goes through a bad day (or week rather), but it is how you deal with it that determines your mental health. I remembered my catch phrase for the blog – Life is all about how you approach it. It is damn true. Last week I chose to digress back to how I used to behave. I chose to be depressed, lazy, and wallow. I didn’t even turn on my laptop for days. When I finally did, I meandered over to my blog, feeling guilty about neglecting it and saw my catch phrase. And then I saw the picture of me in the corner – smiling and happy. I looked good in this picture, not just skinnier, but cheerful. I would have never used this word to describe myself before. I also use to never let people take pictures of me. Who was this happy person in that picture? And who was this blogger having fun with life? Oh yea, me!

I remembered how much I’ve changed over the last year and how good I felt since making the decision to live a healthy life. For me(and lots of people nowadays), healthy means all around, not just physically, but mentally and emotionally too. So how did I forget so quickly, and what was I going to do about it?

I spent the rest of the week/weekend getting back on track. I got in some good work outs – spinning, an interval run, and a back, bicep, and ab routine. I finally did the laundry (all 5 loads! ahhh!) and cleaned the mildewy bathroom. I got out an enjoyed the beautiful sun and 80 degree weather in the city. I also went grocery shopping at Trader Joe’s and the farmers market. This was key, because the lack of food in the apartment was leading me to eat strange things. For example this lunch from 1.5 weeks:

I am calling this the PPP Sandwich: Pumpernickel, Parsley, and Pickles. Surprisingly, I actually kind of liked it. But you can see why I didn’t post it. I was still feeling blue, and all I can think was everyone will right off my blog because of this crazy food, and no normal person would eat this.

I have no excuse for my behavior. I had a lapse and had forgotten about everything that has become important to me. I can promise that it will never happen again.Not just for the sake of the blog, but for me. The blog is me. If I’m having a bad day – I need to write about it.  Everyone has them, and it would be crazy to assume people do not hit rough patches. My blog helps me stay on track. Writing about it will keep me grounded and force me to stay positive. Not always looking at the negatives in my life is something I have struggled with in the past. It started to take a toll on my relationship with Bryan at one point. Keeping a positive approach to life is what I am striving for.

I am feeling renewed the last couple days. I’ve been more productive at work. I even went to yoga twice in the last week. One really awesome free class on Saturday. More on that later.

I’ve been cooking again. Here is a new recipe I tried. Most of the ideas came from Kath Eats and Green Greens + Mac.

I actually made this last week. I have a bunch of recipes to share the next couple days. The ingredients are much the same as the original. My recipe differs from Kath’s in the preparation. She blended some of the greens and the puree to make more of a sauce. I am just too lazy sometimes to have to clean more dishes. So if you are lazy like me or don’t have a blender – this adaption could be for you.

Ingredients for 2 servings:

  • 2 servings of cooked whole wheat rigatoni
  • 1/2 package of sliced cremini mushrooms
  • 1/4 of an onion diced
  • ~3 cups fresh spinach/kale mix
  • 1-2 T olive oil
  • 2/3 can of pumpkin (my last can of season, original recipe uses butternut squash)
  • 1/4 c Vegetable broth
  • 1/4 c fat free (or low fat) ricotta cheese (original recipe uses shredded
  • Salt, Pepper, crushed red pepper, cinnamon
  • feta for serving

Directions:

  1. Cook pasta according to package instructions
  2. Heat oil on a large skillet; add onions and mushrooms sauteing about 5 min. until soft
  3. Add greens and 2 T of vegetable oil; cook just until wilted about 5 more minutes and remove from heat
  4. Drain pasta when done
  5. Add pumpkin to the pot you removed the pasta from to heat
  6. Add last 2 T of broth, cinnamon, and stir in ricotta cheese until melted
  7. Add pasta back to pot along with spices, greens and mushrooms and mix it all up
  8. Sprinkle feta over to serve

Bryan gave it an 8/10. Getting better. I liked it. Good way to sneak in veggies if you are trying to feed a kid. Definitely use shredded cheese to make it more mac and cheese like. I used ricotta because that is what I had, and I needed to use it up.

How do you deal with a bad day or a bad mood? I found that getting in some really good butt busting workouts really motivated me and reinforced getting out of my rut.

Also, a little ice cream never hurts : )

