Tags

,

That was a doozie of title right. Well it comes from my new favorite TV show: Golden Girls. I realize others have been enjoying this show for decades, but I’m just hopping on the GG badwagon. I’ve been enjoying Golden Girls on the WE network instead of studying for the GRE’s – blaahhh. I also have been watching Cougar Town. Apparently, my new found age has forced to identify not with Gossip Girl or Top Model, but with Cougars and the Golden Years. I think it is for the best – my 545 am alarm and 10 pm bedtime fit in with this. The rest of the quote went something like this:

“Anger is like a piece of shredded wheat caught under your dentures, if you leave it there it causes a blister and you have to eat jello all week. If you get it out the sore heals and you feel better.” – Sophia

Don’t you find this to be completely true? I mentioned yesterday that I have had trouble being optimistic in the past. A lot of that was because I was always angry and it affected every part of my life and relationships with just about everyone. I still struggle with this, by letting small things get to me.I’m envious of people like Bryan who can just let everything roll off. I think there needs to be a happy medium between the two extremes though. Not that I want to get all philosophical here – not usually my thing – but this is very reminiscent of Aristotle’s idea of virtues. My college was a small, Jesuit, liberal arts school and we were fortunate enough to be forced to take a number of philosophy classes. I hated it at the time, but overall I think it was for the best. Anywho – so what I am wondering is how do you decide when you are justified to be angry? Finding moderate ground will give me a healthy attitude towards a rather unhealthy emotion like anger. I do not want to fall back into old behaviors where I let the anger and grudges affect my whole life. But I think in this recent case, I am completely justified in being very put off. And unfortunately in this situation talking it out does not have any effect. So how do you deal with anger and the person you are angry with?

On a brighter note – my shorts are pretty bright today! They are J. Crew (on sale!) and the color is Honey Tangerine. Love them! I used to never own shorts.

And unfortunately, you cannot see my shoes – but they are shiny topsiders. I think I’m ready for the yacht club. Bryan and I took a sailing lesson through Groupon last summer – I kind of loved it. I could see myself getting a sail boat one day. I do find the sailing lingo silly though. That will take me more time to get used to.

Getting out of my rut also entails me getting back to my morning routines. So I have a workout to share.

This morning was all about legs. When I strength train, I tend to focus on upper body. But because of the a fore mentioned shorts – I though it would be best to give the gams some love.

Warm Up: 30 secs jumping jacks, 30 secs high knees, 30 secs mountain climbers. No resting in between.

The Workout: 3 sets of 12 – 15 reps for ea work out.

  1. Step Ups w/ diagonal knee raise (gotta get those abs)
  2. Front Squat w/ 10 lb plate
  3. Reverse Lunges
  4. Weighted Sumo Squat w/ calf raise – don’t pause between standing up and the calf raise just lift right onto your toes in one movement
  5. Dumbbell Stiff Leg Deadlift – my favorite move, you can really feel this in your hamstrings the next day.

Cardio: 25 minute Interval on the Elliptical – 2 minutes level 3; 2 minutes level 8. Push the pace.

Just like yesterday, I made a smoothie and took with me to work. This is awesome because then it takes me only 30 minutes to get ready. I have a lot to do at work out. So I needed to get there early! Picture was pretty awful, not worth posting. Flavor was great though:

My Typical Green Monster Smoothie Base:

  • 3/4 c of milk of choice – I mix skim for protein; and unsweetened vanilla almond for flavor
  • 1-2 large handfuls spinach
  • 1/2 frozen banana

Add ins:

  • 3 large frozen strawberries
  • 1/2 scoop chocolate Vega protein powder
  • sprinkle of Kashi GoLean on top

Do you have typical ingredients that always make it into your smoothies?

Happy Thursday! Can’t believe tomorrow is Friday already. Woohoo!

 

 

