Tags

,

As I explained briefly this morning, I am revamping the blog with the hopes that it will be the less clumsy and more the blog I want it to be. But I am going to keep writing what I can here until I get the new and improved blog up and running.

I will get my boyfriend back this Thursday. Bryan is finally taking Step 1 of his medical exam boards, after non-stop 14 hour a day studying. During this time, I have literally been doing everything for him, short of spoon feeding him. I am sure if I had offered to that he would have happily agreed. For the most part, I am happy to help. We have hit a few rough patches during this time. Unfortunately, when he stops studying I need to start studying for my GRE, which is NEXT month. Ahhhh! Fortunately though, Bryan has promised to take care of me when it is my turn to buckle down. I’m a bit nervous. I do not know if I want to relinquish the cooking responsibilities. The bathroom, laundry, and dishes he can definitely have, no problem. But cooking I like, and while Bryan is a decent cook he doesn’t really keep healthy in mind. We will see.

Also, on that topic Bryan requested his burger last night to served over greens instead of on bread. OH HAPPY DAY! Small strides. He has really been enjoying everything I have been making. I have been slacking on getting recipes up. But they have been good!

After Bryan’s exam we are leaving Friday for the moutains western North Carolina – Bryson City/ Asheville area. We are really excited. I cannot narrow done all the restaurants and activities I want to do. Hiking, Mountain Biking, Zip Lining, Water Water Rafting…Yoga Spa in Sylva. We have 5 days and it doesn’t seem like enough time. But anyway – what I was getting at is that we are currently in eat everything that could go bad in the apartment mode. We have a lot a food still, but the random things. We have tons of hummus, eggs, lunch meat, apples, as well as frozen veggies and veggie burgers. I am going to be putting together some hodge podge meals the next couple days. Enter today’s lunch. I have been meaning to cook up some savory oats for a while, and given the circumstances today seemed like the perfect opportunity.

  • 1/3 c. Bob’s Red Mill 5 Grain Flax Hot Cereal cooked in 1 cup water
  • dash of salt and pepper
  • frozen veggies – spinach, peas, and corn defrosted in microwave and added to cooking oats half way through
  • egg cooked over easy so yolk is still runny
  • sprinkle of red pepper and Parmesan cheese on top

Not bad. Bryan said it looked similar to eating hash and eggs. So if you are hesitant about cooking up some savory oats – don’t knock it, ’til you’ve tried it. I think some black beans, tomatoes, and avocado would be stellar in this combo.

I found a great article today that address a topic I have been meaning to do some research about: Should you limit your fruit in take?

I am very much against no carb/low carb diets. I believe very much in well rounded plates composed of 1/2 fruits/veggies, 1/4 protein, and 1/4 whole grain. But fruits do contain a lot of natural sugar so can you consume too much? Without doing the research, I made a mental note of everything in moderation, and usually try to make sure I’m only eating 3-4 servings of fruit per day. Or if I’ve had a lot of fruit and no vegetables – eat vegetables for my snack instead. My confusion about fruit started when I was playing rugby for New York last year. Many of my teammates were starting special diets like Paleo, and other things similar. They had to cut out fruit in the beginning and/or really limit their intake, based on the idea that you could wean your body of craving sugar.

My thoughts are that I really limit my intake of refined sugars and processed foods so if I want fruit I’m going to enjoy it. Fruit has lots of fiber and vitamins, as well as naturally occurring sugar. And it is definitely better to eat a serving of melon than a hunk of cake. This article in the Canadian news paper Globe and Mail, Confused about fruit? Here’s what you need to know, confirms the everything in moderation theory and that fruit is in fact good for you. The nutritionist who wrote the column says she recommends 4 servings of fruit a day to her clients. That is unless you are diabetic or prediabetic, then you need to be careful. The article also identifies some high and low GI fruits – low GI foods release their sugar more slowly keeping your blood glucose levels from spiking. Also, fruit that are lower in sugar content over all.

I’m glad I came across this article, it really cleared a lot of things up about fruit. Another piece helpful information I got from the article is serving size measurements. One fruit serving equals 1 medium-sized fruit, ½ cup of berries or fresh cut-up fruit, half a grapefruit, mango or papaya, ¼ cup of dried fruit, or half a cup of 100% fruit juice. I’m off to go enjoy some pineapple over my yogurt for dessert.

Now that it is summer, Tell me what is your favorite tropical fruit? Mine is definitely mango!

 

