Tags

, ,

Pulling a double work out on the hottest day yet – what was I thinking?

Luckily, my outdoor run yesterday was pretty early and it was not blazin’ hot yet. I got in 3.5 miles in 32 minutes. Not bad. I like to stay under 10 minute miles if I can. To switch it up a little on the return trip, I did the following 2 minute interval run 3x’s:

  • 15 seconds on, 15 seconds off
  • 20 seconds on, 20 seconds off
  • 30 seconds on, 30 seconds off

Smoothie was in order after that run. I was sweating and my face was bright red. This is normal for me. It just lasted a little longer than usual.

I know it looks like an ugly green, but sometimes the best things are not very pretty looking.

  • 1 c. unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 large handful spinach
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 3 frozen strawberries
  • 1/2 scoop Sunwarrior chocolate protein powder (my first try – I loved it!)
  • handful of Puffins on top

Workout number 2:

Alittle more Back/Bicep lifting. I know I just did it on Monday but there are machines I like that Bryan’s gym doesn’t have, such as the lat pull down, and they don’t have any straight barbells. They are all curved funny, and it throws me off for some reason.

  • Seat Machine Row – 40 lbs 3 x 10 reps
  • Lat Pull down – 37.5 lbs 3 x 12 reps
  • Good Mornings –  18lb barbell 3 x 8 reps
  • Barbell Bicep Curl – 18lb 3 x 10 reps
  • Beat Over Barbell Row – 18 lb 3 x 12 reps

Followed by a 45 min spin class. This was the best part of the day. Not only did I get in a good workout but this guy was taking the class for the first time. He was about my age, so mid twenties, and in good shape. Half way through the class I hear:

New Guy:  How long is this class?

Response: 45 minutes

New Guy(yells): 45 minutes! Holy Shit!

Awesome! I couldn’t help but giggle. People, especially guys, are always ragging on spinning. I’m constantly arguing against the statement “What do you do, just pedal on a bike?” Not even close! So in case you have some reservations about spinning – dont! Go try it!

Dinner was more eat what is left in the house, which was spinach salad topped with hummus, veggie burger, cucumber, and grape tomatoes.

I have a ton to do to get ready for the trip tomorrow. We are going out to celebrate Bryan being done with his exam tonight. His favorite food is crab/lobster so we are going for seafood. Yum yum!

What is your favorite seafood? I’m hoping for some scallops tonight.

