Tags

, ,

Today is Wednesday! And that means it is run club day! I hope the weather holds up, otherwise it will be treadmill running for me and who wants that. Not me, at least not when it is summer.

Last night Bryan and I decided to spend time together. No big deal right, we spend time together everyday. Not really – there is always the iPhones, or computer, or iPad, or TV. We went out for a walk and left everything at home. Even the phones. It was strangle and liberating. And we had nothing to do but talk to each other. We headed down to Madison Square Park at about 830. It was just getting dark and the park was really nice. No technology – so I have no photos to share. A couple times, I thought, Gotta get a pictureoh wait no I don’t. I’m not sorry. It was nice just focusing on the night and the park and each other. It was beautiful and you will just have to talk my word for it.

We did head into Eataly to browse. We were right across the street. How could we not go in?? That place never ceases to amaze me. Bryan has a deep love for cheese and he picked up some Buffalo mozzarella. I wanted this fresh baked Spelt Pear bread, but they were all out. Sounds great though, right? I want it with some fresh ricotta and figs. Yum Yum.

I love technology. It is what I live for now. But too much of anything is bad and can drive a person nuts. Sometimes, you have to step away from the iphone and let your google reader get backed up. Enjoy the simpler things. We did some how get into a conversation about twitter. Hey, we did the best we could.

Since, I am running this afternoon I am keeping the love going with home made breakfast. I present to you Frittata Ramekins…or is it Ramekin Frittatas. Regardless, these are the cutest damn things I’ve ever made.

I’ve been bitching that I need a cast iron skillet for frittatas and corn bread. But we live in a box and too much kitchen crap as it is. And we have a roommate + zero storage to begin with. I woke up one morning with the idea. I googled it, and sure enough you can make frittatas in a ramekin.

My add-ins:

  • chopped spinach
  • tomatoes
  • lightly sauteed zucchini
  • Spray your ramekins/grease ’em up (these are 8 oz ramekins for reference)
  • add your veggies to the bottom
  • poor egg mixture on top (Bryan had 2 eggs, I had 1 egg + 1 egg white)
  • season
  • Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes.

They pop right out into little muffin shaped frittatas. It reminded me of something you could get at a little cafe or bakery. I was really tickled with myself. Apparently, I still am. This creativity thing is new for me, so I am pretty excited about it.

Final thought for the morning. I need new dishes! These are not mine. I adopted these when I moved in with Bryan. We both agree we need new plate ware. But we differ on the kind. Bryan thinks fancy plain white ones – a la iron chef style is better for plating pictures. I, on the other hand, have always been slightly obsessed with the fun patterned and brightly colored dishes. I had to leave most of my coffee mug collection at home. But most of them follow this fun style.

Exhibit A (Bryan’s mug left; My mug right):

I like mine.

Tell me-

What is your plate ware style? Are you more minimalist and clean, or fun and patterned? And which do you think makes for better pictures?

 

 

