Tags

, , , ,

The weekend went by way to fast. And with the rain literally non stop all day, I had a very lazy day. I did go and see The Help this morning. I live about an 8 block walk from a movie theater. This was short enough to handle the rain and it would get me out of the apartment for a bit. The movie was good, but the book was definitely better. I was surprised at how many guys there were in the theater. There were at least 2 guys there alone and a group of like 5 guys sitting in front of me, a couple of whom were tearing up at the end. I recommend the movie. I think I am a big Emma Stone fan too. I thought Easy A was entertaining and she was really good in Zombieland. Next movie I want to see if Crazy, Stupid, Love – I think she is in that too.

Before the movie I made some Peachy Oats. Yesterday at the green market, I splurged on some peaches. But they were absolutely worth it. Best damn peaches I have ever tasted. I wanted to make a oatmeal bake but it was already 9 am, and I was already starving. Here is my quickened verison.

IMG 0029

Impatient Peachy Oatmeal Bake

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup old fashion oats
  • 1 large peach washed and sliced
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup milk (I used skim but use any type you like) + more for serving
  • 1 T vanilla
  • cinnamon
  • dash of sea salt
  • agave/honey/maple syrup  (I omitted this bc the peaches are sweet enough for me but added it to Bryan’s)
  • 2 T ground flax

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 and spray 2 ramekins, or small pan
  2. Cook oats on stove according to package with 1 c water + 1/2 c milk, vanilla, cinnamon, salt, and optional sweetener
  3. While oats are cooking slice peach and put into bottom of ramekins, reserve a slice or 2 for the top
  4. Top peaches with oatmeal and ground flax
  5. Bake for about 10 minutes ( watch to make sure it doesn’t burn)

IMG 0034

These peaches are sooo good. If you are not as impatient as me I definitely recommend doing a traditional 35-40 minute oatmeal bake. The flavors will be richer. But this was still really good + I hate waiting.

Dinner tonight was also made from green market produce. One of the favorite things this summer has been zucchini noodles. I bought a julienne tool at Sur la Table and it just makes it so easy (my knife skills are not that great).And it is actually the only time Bryan helps cook too. He loves to do the zucchini.

IMG 0039

Zucchini Pasta with Oven Roasted Heirloom Tomatoes and White Beans

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • Biggest zucchini you can find, julienned
  • 1 pint of cherry heirloom tomatoes, sliced in half
  • 1/2-2/3 can of cannelloni beans
  • 2 T EVOO
  • salt + pepper
  • thyme
  • basil

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 and spray baking sheet
  2. Slice tomatoes and toss with 1 T EVOO, salt, pepper, and thyme (I used dried)
  3. Roast in oven for about 15 or until the start to burst
  4. Meanwhile, julienne zucchini and add to boiling water for just a few minutes, and drain
  5. Combine zucchini, beans, remaining tablespoon of EVOO, pepper, thyme and fresh basil
  6. Plate and top with roasted tomatoes

More options:

  • You could also top with Parmesan Cheese (Bryan did)
  • If you need more to the dish serve alongside a serving of protein or add spaghetti in with the zucchini pasta

IMG 0040

My favorite part was the color of the tomatoes.

IMG 0038

The dish was so simple, but really flavorful. There is definitely something to be said for cooking with fresh, in season produce. The tastes just pop so much more. Both the peaches and tomatoes I cooked with today are probably the best I’ve had.

I’m going to end this post with a fun little 10 Personal Questions Q & A I saw on Healthy Tipping Point. I like the idea of sharing personal questions, and since I am still new at this it gives me a chance to introduce myself a bit more. So here goes….

What do you have on your bedside table?

No table on my side of the bed because of our tiny ass room, but on the floor right next to me is my iPad, latest issue of Runner’s World and Muscle and Fitness, reading glasses (so grandma I know) and my iPhone.

Do you have a tattoo?

Not yet! Always wanted one. Right now I am really digging white ink tattoos. I think they are more feminine looking.

PastedGraphic 1

What is your worst habit?

I bit my nails, and I have always been a pretty bad procrastinator with things I don’t want to do.

How do you handle finances in your relationship?  Or, how would you like to handle money in your future relationship?

We basically keep separate finances right now because we are not married. Bryan does do all my taxes though. And the one thing we do have an agreement for is that I pay for the groceries, and he pays when we eat out. I think in the future we will probably have joint accounts both checking, savings, maybe separate retirement. I don’t know. We will mostly being paying all our bills together out of one account I think. Ideally Bryan will be funding the bills but I will physically be paying them. Haha, kidding…sort of.

If you could change your name, what would you change it to?

Something more unique. Ashley is so popular for my age group. Maybe something like my nickname, Lucy.

Where do you want to go on your next vacation?

France or Thailand. If I am staying in the US then New Orleans or Austin, TX.

What is one political cause you feel strongly about?

Education. I think the United States education system is tumbling out of control right now. Everything from the decreasing quality in public schools to funding for college. A good education is the foundation for everything in life I think.

Have you ever stolen anything?

I have stolen in the sense that I take extra sweetener packets for later use at coffee places and at conferences or talks at work take extra drinks and snacks for later or to take home. I do that a lot.

Tell us something embarrassing about yourself.

Bryan calls me fog horn because I am so gassy. I also hate wearing underwear when I am at home. I have always been this way. My mom said when I was little I would come home, strip down, and take off my diaper.

Your Turn! Answer any or all of these questions in the comments.

Or tell me what is your favorite in season produce right now??

