Tags

, , , ,

Evening all! Today was a pretty solid day. It started out with yoga and ended with a group run. And I was pretty productive at work. My western blot (protein analysis) can out with a pretty good result. Yay! Can’t ask for better.

I always feel good when I start a day off with yoga. I woke up pretty early to make the first class at Yoga to the People East Village. Yoga to the People is a chain of donation based studios located in New York, Seattle, San Fran, and Berkley. This studio has 60 minute vinyasa classes. I have read both really positive and negative reviews. My opinion – I love it. I have only been to the East Village location for 3 morning classes. They have been some of best yoga work outs I have had. They do a really good job with the sequence and the pace of the class.This morning the instructor did a number of long chair poses and included some tough ab work in boat pose. I like when classes really focus on strength training. It takes the practice to the next level for me, and I get a good sweat out of it. I love the deep stretching I get with yoga, but I also like to feel a burn. I have gotten that out of all 3 classes at YTTP. I may even go tomorrow. My knee actually felt great when I left there this morning. The mile walk down it was acting up, but the way back it was great.

The only negative is that the class is pretty packed. I thought that might bother me, but it doesn’t. It is such a good workout and a great price (pay what you can/want) that I really don’t even mind all the people. I usually pick a spot near the front corner. I really recommend trying YTTP if you have one near you.

Next month, I will be trying out their hot yoga studio on 27th St. Keelie from Sweat = Success is awesome and is planning an NYC Blogger meet-up. It is going to be on September 25th and after class we are doing brunch (my favorite meal!) If you are interested in going head over to her blog for more info!

Now it is time for What I Ate Wednesday!

NewImage

This is a weekly party started by Peas and Crayons. This is the one day a week where you get a full look into an entire day of eats for me.

Breakfast: 1 egg white (3 T of liquid egg whites) + 1/3 c old fashion oats cooked with 1/2 water 1/2 unsweetened vanilla almond milk + 1/2 medium banana + 2 fresh figs! And a coffee with skim milk

IMG 0188

Lunch: Salad Beast – spinach, baby beets, wheatberries, cucumber, ff feta, TJ’s Flower Pepper, and balsamic + an unplanned addition of roasted garlic hummus at the end and an undocumented granny smith apple.

IMG 0008

Pre-Run snack: Mini Lemon Zest Luna + small iced coffee w. skim

IMG 0202

Dinner: Balsamic marinated pan-seared tofu + stuffed fairytale eggplants (recipe below)

IMG 0193 IMG 0194

Late night snack: Attune dark chocolate probiotic bar from HLS swag bag and warm sunflower milk with cinnamon

IMG 0195 IMG 0196

Love that have been getting to enjoy a little chocolate with some healthy benefits. Besides this probiotic chocolate bar, which was really good and only 80 calories, I have also been getting my calcium through Adora Discs. Yum!

Here is the eggplant recipe:

Cous Cous and White Bean Stuffed Eggplants

This was a recipe I came up with quick using ingredients I had to use up in the fridge. I picked up these fairytale eggplants last week at the market. They were the cutest damn things ever! They are mini eggplants, and would you expect anything else but adorable from something with fairytale in the name? Bryan started steaming them before I got home, so I never got a picture. I steamed the eggplants but you could also bake them if you do not have a steamer. This recipe (if you can even call it that) is great because it is easy and delicious. I just used things I had on hand. You can use any whole grain, bean, and herbs you have, not necessary what I used here.

Ingredients (Serves 2):

  • 2 fairytale or baby eggplants
  • 1/3 cup dry whole wheat couscous (cooked according to package)
  • 1/3 cup cannellini beans (drained and rinsed)
  • 1 cube of TJ’s frozen basil
  • salt, pepper, dry thyme
  • fat free feta crumbles and walnuts for garnish (optional but tasty!)

Directions:

  1. Wash and cut eggplant in half lengthwise
  2. Steam for 10 minutes or until tender and skin darkens to brown
  3. While eggplant is steaming cook couscous
  4. Scoop out the meat in the eggplant, leaving just enough to keep shape.
  5. Combine eggplant meat, couscous, beans, spices, and herbs in a bowl
  6. Spoon mixture back into eggplant
  7. Sprinkle with feta and walnut pieces and serve!

How was your day? What was the best part about it? I can’t even pick yoga, running, a new recipe. It was all good.

