Tags

Happy weekend all! Hope everyone is staying safe from Hurricane Irene. I am spending the weekend catching up on blog reading! Which brings me to excited news!

I am starting a new series today called the Weekend Feature. Every Saturday, I will post about a blog that has inspired me. This is my way of spreading blog. In addition to sharing with you what I admire about each featured blog, I will share their response to why they enjoy blogging.

Without further ado, I give you the first Weekend Feature!

Spoonful of Sass

“Bringing Wholesome Foods to the Table”

NewImage

This is Kim from a Spoonful of Sass. Kim was my first blog friend (yay for blends) and my first ever commenter. Since “meeting” her back in April, I have bugged her with a number of emails looking for blog advice and she has always been happy to help.

Kim is a Registered Dietician, and blogs about her love for whole, natural foods and living local. Her passion for food really shows through in her writing. She has a fun feature called Food of the Month. This month is chard month! Here she dives into a certain food and shares nutrition, recipes, and unique uses. Besides cooking, Kim loves traveling, kayaking, her kitties Mia and Lulu, and gardening.

NewImage

NewImage

NewImage

The gardening aspect of Spoonful of Sass is what I enjoy most. I love that she has her own garden, from which she gives readers amazing recipes. It kind of makes me want to move from the city so I can grow my own food too! Check out her Fresh Herb Butters and Apple Walnut Chard.

“When I started blogging I would have told you I wanted to blog to be part of a community of like-minded individuals.   I had heard so much about the healthy living blog community and the connection to others.  This is true.

However, what I have come to love most about blogging is self discovery.

Each time I sit down to create a post I have to think about what I want the world to hear from me.  I don’t want to throw just anything out there.  I have been forced to articulate my goals, opinions, and feelings.  It may seem obvious that I know my own goals, opinions, and feelings, but how often do you stop and think about them, type them, or throw them out to people you don’t even know.

So now I know a little bit more about myself.  And you do too!  I sincerely hope you enjoy.”

Kim gives me inspiration to do something new with fresh foods. It is great to her that blogging has allowed her to find out new things about herself, while sharing what she loves with the world. So, if you haven’t already head on over to Spoonful of Sass.

 

.

 

 

